top of page

NAVDURGA (नवदुर्गा)

Navdurga (नवदुर्गा) are the nine forms of Durga (namely Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidhatri). Durga is one of the principal Hindu deities. Each of these Durga nine forms is revered for each night for nine continuous days during Navaratri as per the given order. Navaratri is an auspicious Hindu festival celebrated every year during the change in the seasons.


प्रथमं शैलपुत्री च द्वितीयं ब्रह्मचारिणी।
तृतीयं चन्द्रघण्टेति कूष्माण्डेति चतुर्थकम् ।।
पंचमं स्कन्दमातेति षष्ठं कात्यायनीति च।
सप्तमं कालरात्रीति महागौरीति चाष्टमम् ।।
नवमं सिद्धिदात्री च नवदुर्गा: प्रकीर्तिता:।

उक्तान्येतानि नामानि ब्रह्मणैव महात्मना ।।




























The principal theme incorporated in all these nine forms of Navdurga is AIPAN, Uttarakhand’s traditional folk art, particularly of the Kumaon division. I have converted this art form along with the Mandala art form into making the enchanted faces of Navdurga to give an exquisite and folk touch to it. Only in the third form of Navdurga i.e. Kushmanda, I have incorporated the Pichoda motif. Pichoda is a thin dupatta, saffron in color with maroon polka dots all over the cloth & a sacred symbol (usually Swastik) adorns at the center. Also, uses of different color combinations have used apart from the usual color combination to match it with the name aura of Navdurga.


Shailaputri (शैलपुत्री)

  • Etymology: Daughter (putri) of the mountain (shaila) Himalaya.

  • About: She is the absolute form of Mother Nature or Gramma devata and the embodiment (avatar) of the power of Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahadeva.


Brahmacharini (ब्रह्मचारिणी)

  • Etymology: Brahma means "the absolute reality" & charini means "conduct".  

  • About: She is the goddess of austerity & practices Brahmacharya. This is her unmarried form.


Chandraghanta (चन्द्रघण्टा)

  • Etymology: Chandra means "moon" and ghanta means "bell"

  • About: It represents married form of Durga.


Kushmanda (कूष्माण्डा)

  • Etymology: Ku means "a little" & ushma means "warmth" or "energy", and anda means "The Universe"

  • About: In this form she resides inside the Sun, resulting in liberating Sun's energy to the universe.


Skandamata (स्कंदमाता)

  • Etymology: Mother of the war god Skanda (Kartikeya)

  • About: Lord Skanda (also known as Kartikeya or Lord Murugan) is the brother of Ganesha. Goddess Skandamata holds baby Skanda in her right hand and keeps the left hand in Abhayamudra seated on a lotus flower.


Katyayani (कात्यायनी)

  • Etymology: To destroy the tyrannical demon Mahishasura, Parvati incarnated as the daughter of sage Katyayana.

  • About: As per the Vamana Purana, she was created from the fused energies of all the gods when their anger at the demon Mahishasura manifested itself in the form of energy rays.


Kalratri (कालरात्रि)

  • Etymology: Kaal means time as well as death whereas ratri refers to night or darkness/ignorance.

  • About: She is the most frightening form of Durga. She is the slayer of demons Chand-Munda & Raktabeej.


Mahagauri (महागौरी)

  • Etymology: Maha means great and gauri means white, hence due to her extremely fair complexion, she gained the epithet Mahagauri.

  • About: She is the slayer of demons Shumbha & Nishumbha.


Siddhidhatri (सिद्धिदात्री)

  • Etymology: The name indicates one who removes ignorance and provides the knowledge to realize true reality.

  • About: As per the Adi Parashakti sacred text, the Mother Goddess is amorphous means having no form. She thus appeared as Siddhidatri from the left half of Lord Shiva Ardhanarishvara avatar.

All Artwork © Laxmi Pangti 2021

  • Instagram
bottom of page